Remember Me

9 Apr

Title: Remember Me
Year: 2010
Director: Allen Coulter
Writer: Will Fetters
Starring: Robert Pattinson, Emilie de Ravin, Chris Cooper, Lena Olin, Pierce Brosnan, Tate Ellington
MPAA Rating: PG-13, violence, sexual content, language and smoking
Runtime: 113 min
Major Awards:
IMDb Rating: 6.3
Rotten Tomatoes: 29%

I’ve heard and read many many unkind things about Remember Me, A.O. Scott actually said “If this movie is playing at a theatre near you, you might want to consider moving somewhere else”, yes, that sort of unkind. But, even though the script is far from perfect and that final twist some might find pretty upsetting, I actually found myself really liking Remember Me, mostly, I would say, because Pattinson and de Ravin are two very likeable actors who make us care and feel for their characters a whole deal.

The story is sweet enough while the love lasts, and heartbreaking in the end, but had that ending, which I won’t spoil here, been different then the story would have been different, and, I find myself thinking, that it could have been much much better, but I’ll address the ending at the end of this review.

Here’s the story real quick, Robert Pattinson is Tyler, a guy who lives in angst, has a father that doesn’t care much about him, smokes, drinks and lives with his roommate with whom he once gets into trouble and a local detective who throws them in jail, then his roommate tells him the daughter of the detective goes to school with them at NYU and dares Tyler to date her and then dump her to get even with the detective.

Ally is the girl, and she’s played by Emilie de Ravin who I really like, it goes without saying that when Tyler meets her they fall madly in love, and obviously he won’t break up with her. I like Pattinson, but from what I had seen in the Twilight films I wasn’t so sure he could really act, I stand corrected after seeing Remember Me, he’s seriously good in this one, both in acting the courtship process with Ally and in his relationship with his father, who’s super wealthy and is played exceedingly well by Pierce Brosnan, and also in those scenes with his kid sister, who is the only real person he can open up with, and yes, I realize now how Holden Caulfield he sounds.

Then there’s the fallout, caused by Ally’s dad, and then there’s that closing scene which I said I would address. Again, I won’t spoil it, but I will say this, the ending spoiled the film for me, this would have been an A or A- had it not been for the ending which I found offensive, not offensive exactly because of what it showed, but because I had invested a whole deal in this story, and while I get what they were trying to achieve with the ending, I found it too grotesque to really send the point home, and found it actually made irrelevant that brilliant story it had just told. It was a gamble that didn’t pay off, but not for that should people write off Remember Me like they have, it is still a beautiful story with beautiful acting all around, I’d just wish we could see an alternate ending for it.

Grade: B-

Leave a Reply

