The A-Team

22 Jul

Title: The A-Team
Year: 2010
Director: Joe Carnahan
Writers: Joe Carnahan, Brian Bloom, Skip Woods based on the television series by Stephen J. Canell and Frank Lupo
Starring: Liam Neeson, Bradley Cooper, Quinton Jackson, Sharlto Copley, Jessica Biel, Patrick Wilson, Brian Bloom, Jon Hamm
MPAA Rating: PG-13, intense sequences of action and violence throughout, language and smoking
Runtime: 117 min
Major Awards:
IMDb Rating: 7.4
Rotten Tomatoes: 48%

The A-Team didn’t charm me, yeah it’s loud and shallow and full of action, all of the things that made the original TV series great, but something about this adaptation didn’t do it for me, but, if I’m to be honest, it had it’s fun moments, they were few and far between, but there were still a couple of fun moments, it was a mindless type of fun, but one could make an argument that that’s what summer action movies are all about, so while I may not have loved it I will say it achieved it’s purpose for the most part, too bad it’s purpose wasn’t really that ambitious.

I like action movies when they are done well, but I’m am mostly quite meticulous about what ‘well’ means to me, that’s why I many times like the action stunts from older movies more than some from today’s films, because in the olden days, because there was no CGI, the stunts had to actually be done by people and not computers, and, sure, they didn’t look as spectacular, but at least they felt real. Nowadays there are indeed some action sequences that are done in its entirety by special effects but that also manage to seem real or at least are too exciting for you to think that they aren’t while you watch them. The action sequences in here, however, don’t achieve either, they are made completely by CGI and they feel way too false for me to even consider liking them, some people may like them, because at least they are noisy as hell and have obligatory explosions, but they weren’t my cup of tea at all.

So, yes, there is a lot about this film I didn’t like because it was just too silly and dumb for me to care about the characters, and with a cast that includes Liam Neeson and Sharlto Copley one would have hoped that some connection to the characters was available since the actors are so good, but no, this is just explosion after explosion, and dumb as that may be, as I already said, this is one of those films that at least knows it isn’t all that great, and that just exploits it’s silliness to try and make cash from people who like this macho sort of action, but, since I’m writing this review over a month after this film came out, that wasn’t achieved at all, with the $135 million worldwide gross being just a bit more than the $110 million budget this was made on one has to believe the studio wasn’t happy at all about this one’s performance.

See how I haven’t even mentioned the plot? That’s because this movie was apparently made without any single sort of interest in it’s own story, and I won’t tell it because it’s really not necessary for me to do it, if you want to see this film it’s not likely that you want to do so because you expect a good storyline, it’s most likely because you expect some explosions and the sight of Jessica Biel, and while there a lot of the former and at least some of the latter then I guess you may like it, but I personally didn’t care for it much, and I would give it a lower grade if it wasn’t because of that short Jon Hamm cameo.

Grade: C+

Leave a Reply

