Emmy Predictions: TV Movie/Miniseries

3 Sep

The 63rd Annual Emmy Awards will take place on Sunday September 18th, just a bit over two weeks from now, so I started making my formal Emmy Predictions and posting my review of each of the major races, since the last time I did so was in my EmmyWatch posts which I did to predict the nominations and as such they had a broader outlook. When predicting the nominees, I went 86 out of the 110 slots I had called, which I think is a solid number, hopefully my accuracy will only improve now that I’m predicting the actual winners. This Emmy Predictions post will take a look at the main TV Movie/Miniseries categories.

OUTSTANDING TV MOVIE OR MINISERIES

Nominees

  • Mildred Pierce
  • Downton Abbey
  • The Kennedys
  • Cinema Verite
  • Too Big to Fail
  • The Pillars of the Earth

This really will be an all-out battle between Mildred Pierce and Downton Abbey, like it was shaping up to be from the very beginning, but I think now it’s closer than we think, but Mildred Pierce has the talent and back-up to go all the way, and I don’t think it will be stopped.

Should Win: Mildred Pierce

Will Win: Mildred Pierce

OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTOR IN A TV MOVIE OR MINISERIES

Nominees

  • Greg Kinnear (The Kennedys)
  • Barry Pepper (The Kennedys)
  • Édgar Ramírez (Carlos)
  • William Hurt (Too Big to Fail)
  • Idris Elba (Luther)
  • Laurence Fishburne (Thurgood)

I’m actually very much on the fence about this prediction, as I can easily see Ramírez, Hurt or Elba picking up the trophy on Emmy Night, and you can make good cases for all three of them doing so. So it will depend on how the voters feel, the fact that Carlos was overlooked in the Best Mini category may mean that Ramírez won’t have the support needed to pull the win here, but he’s my favorite so I’ll predict him

Should Win: Édgar Ramírez

Will Win: Édgar Ramírez

OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTRESS IN A TV MOVIE OR MINISERIES

Nominees

  • Kate Winslet (Mildred Pierce)
  • Elizabeth McGovern (Downton Abbey)
  • Diane Lane (Cinema Verite)
  • Taraji P. Henson (Taken From Me: The Tiffany Rubin Story)
  • Jean Marsh (Upstairs Downstairs)

I won’t waste your time here trying to pretend there’s more than one scenario in which this category can end up. This trophy already have Winslet’s named engraved on it, and right so, only the Tony left for her to get the EGOT.

Should Win: Kate Winslet

Will Win: Kate Winslet

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A TV MOVIE OR MINISERIES

Nominees

  • Guy Pearce (Mildred Pierce)
  • Brian F. O’Byrne (Mildred Pierce)
  • Tom Wilkinson (The Kennedys)
  • Paul Giamatti (Too Big to Fail)
  • James Woods (Too Big to Fail)

I’m not sure how this will go, it’s probably Woods versus Pearce at this point, and just for the sheer impact that Mildred Pierce will have in the telecast I’ll go ahead and predict a Guy Pearce win.

Should Win: Paul Giamatti

Will Win: Guy Pearce

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A TV MOVIE OR MINISERIES

Nominees

  • Evan Rachel Wood (Mildred Pierce)
  • Melissa Leo (Mildred Pierce)
  • Mare Winningham (Mildred Pierce)
  • Maggie Smith (Downton Abbey)
  • Eileen Atkins (Upstairs Downstairs)

Here’s what I think will happen, the trio of Mildred Pierce ladies will cancel each other out by losing some votes to their very own co-stars and the beneficiary from that will be the always excellent Maggie Smith.

Should Win: Evan Rachel Wood

Will Win: Maggie Smith

Leave a Reply

