Emmy Predictions: Comedy

8 Sep

The 63rd Annual Emmy Awards will take place on Sunday September 18th, just a bit over two weeks from now, so I started making my formal Emmy Predictions and posting my review of each of the major races, since the last time I did so was in my EmmyWatch posts which I did to predict the nominations and as such they had a broader outlook. When predicting the nominees, I went 86 out of the 110 slots I had called, which I think is a solid number, hopefully my accuracy will only improve now that I’m predicting the actual winners. This Emmy Predictions post will take a look at the main Comedy categories.

OUTSTANDING COMEDY SERIES

Nominees

  • The Big Bang Theory
  • Glee
  • Modern Family
  • The Office
  • Parks and Recreation
  • 30 Rock

My personal favorite, Community, wasn’t even nominated, which sucks big time. However, I was super glad to see Parks and Rec in there, and in an ideal world they would take home the prize. But seriously, don’t pretend this one hasn’t already gone to the superb Modern Family.

Should Win: Parks and Recreation

Will Win: Modern Family

OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES

Nominees

  • Alec Baldwin (30 Rock)
  • Louis C.K. (Louie)
  • Steve Carell (The Office)
  • Johnny Galecki (The Big Bang Theory)
  • Matt LeBlanc (Episodes)
  • Jim Parsons (The Big Bang Theory)

This is a really cool category. I mean, I don’t really get why Galecki is in there instead of Joel McHale which would’ve made far more sense, but the inclusion of Louis C.K. was awesome. But alas, this should really go to Steve Carell this time, not only is the guy one of the most beloved in all of showbiz, but he has dutifully played the most adorable idiot on televison for seven years, gotten nominated for each of them, and never won the Emmy. He just ended his run on the NBC comedy and gave us some funny and emotional final episodes, so it’s now or never.

Should Win: Steve Carell

Will Win: Steve Carell

OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTRESS IN A COMEDY SERIES

Nominees

  • Edie Falco (Nurse Jackie)
  • Tina Fey (30 Rock)
  • Laura Linney (The Big C)
  • Melissa McCarthy (Mike & Molly)
  • Martha Plimpton (Raising Hope)
  • Amy Poehler (Parks and Recreation)

I am absolutely torn about how this category will go. I want to see it go to Tina Fey because she’s Tina Fey, but that won’t happen. I want to see it go to Amy Poehler just as much, and that could actually happen. But then there’s Laura Linney, her show isn’t that much of a comedy, but she’s amazing in it, so I will go ahead and put her as my bet, even though I can definitely still see Poehler getting in there, or even a Martha Plimpton upset.

Should Win: Tina Fey/Amy Poehler

Will Win: Laura Linney

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES

Nominees

  • Chris Colfer (Glee)
  • Jesse Tyler Ferguson (Modern Family)
  • Ed O’Neill (Modern Family)
  • Eric Stonestreet (Modern Family)
  • Ty Burrell (Modern Family)
  • Jon Cryer (Two and a Half Men)

Look, there aren’t enough words to describe the rage I still feel about Nick Offerman being snubbed here. But, alas, we must move on. I would think Cryer is most definitely out, and I seriously doubt Colfer will win. So yeah, just like last year this will remain in the insanely awesome Modern Family ensemble, as well as it should be, this is the strongest comedic cast there is. Now, who out of the four guys will win it? Well, Stonestreet won last year, so let’s assume they’ll spread the love. Ferguson is great, but he isn’t that great. So that leaves Burrell and O’Neill. Either could happen, but Burrell is my personal favorite so I’ll go with him.

Should Win: Ty Burrell

Will Win: Ty Burrell

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A COMEDY SERIES

Nominees

  • Jane Lynch (Glee)
  • Betty White (Hot in Cleveland)
  • Julie Bowen (Modern Family)
  • Sofia Vergara (Modern Family)
  • Kristen Wiig (Saturday Night Live)
  • Jane Krakowski (30 Rock)

This to me is really tough one to call. I mean, I doubt Wiig and Krakowski will get it. But the other four are all real possibilities. I mean, if Modern Family‘s gonna take this I would say, and hope, it would be for Bowen and not Vergara, though that could still certainly happen. And everybody loves Betty White so she can’t be counted out. And everybody loves Jane Lynch, too, who’s actually hosting the show to boot. However, when Neil Patrick Harris hosted he lost, and Lynch already won last year, so I’m praying they’ll spread the love.

Should Win: Julie Bowen

Will Win: Julie Bowen (though in my heart I know it’ll probably be Lynch)

Leave a Reply

