Emmy Predictions: Drama

8 Sep

The 63rd Annual Emmy Awards will take place on Sunday September 18th, just a bit over two weeks from now, so I started making my formal Emmy Predictions and posting my review of each of the major races, since the last time I did so was in my EmmyWatch posts which I did to predict the nominations and as such they had a broader outlook. When predicting the nominees, I went 86 out of the 110 slots I had called, which I think is a solid number, hopefully my accuracy will only improve now that I’m predicting the actual winners. On this, my final Emmy Predictions post, I will take a look at the main Drama categories.

OUTSTANDING DRAMA SERIES

Nominees

  • Boardwalk Empire
  • Dexter
  • Friday Night Lights
  • Game of Thrones
  • The Good Wife
  • Mad Men

If you want to call this a Boardwalk Empire vs. Mad Men battle, well I guess you can go right ahead because technically it’s probably exactly that. But seriously, this has gone to Mad Men three times in a row, and it’s still one of the five or ten best shows of all-time, so it won’t stop now.

Should Win: Friday Night Lights/Mad Men

Will Win: Mad Men

OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTOR IN A DRAMA SERIES

Nominees

  • Steve Buscemi (Boardwalk Empire)
  • Kyle Chandler (Friday Night Lights)
  • Michael C. Hall (Dexter)
  • Jon Hamm (Mad Men)
  • Hugh Laurie (House)
  • Timothy Olyphant (Justified)

Like I said above, Mad Men is right up there as one of the best TV shows ever, and it has won the Best Drama kudos for every single one of its seasons, however, it hasn’t received a single acting Emmy so far, despite garnering quite a bit of nods for its thesps. However, this is all going to change this year, because the talented/hilarious/handsome Jon Hamm has the ‘The Suitcase’ episode to submit, and not even Steve Buscemi can attempt to compete with that.

Should Win: Kyle Chandler/Jon Hamm

Will Win: Jon Hamm

OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTRESS IN A DRAMA SERIES

Nominees

  • Kathy Bates (Harry’s Law)
  • Connie Britton (Friday Night Lights)
  • Mireille Enos (The Killing)
  • Mariska Hargitay (Law & Order: SVU)
  • Julianna Margulies (The Good Wife)
  • Elisabeth Moss (Mad Men)

Read above and you’ll see that I’m betting on a Jon Hamm win because he finally has a seriously impeccable episode to submit in ‘The Suitcase’ (that, and the fact that Bryan Cranston is sitting out of the race this year). Now, Elisabeth Moss has that same episode to submit (and she has) and she’s just as phenomenal in it. But the academy already screwed it up last year by not giving it to Margulies, and that’s not gonna happen again this year. Better luck next year, Lizzy.

Should Win: Connie Britton/Julianna Margulies

Will Win: Julianna Margulies

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A DRAMA SERIES

Nominees

  • Peter Dinklage (Game of Thrones)
  • Josh Charles (The Good Wife)
  • Alan Cumming (The Good Wife)
  • Walton Goggins (Justified)
  • John Slattery (Mad Men)
  • Andre Braugher (Men of a Certain Age)

I have no idea how to call this one as I can literally see all six of these guys winning for a number of reasons each. I’ve literally typed up four names in the will win and deleted them and came back here, I can’t pick one. Like, I said above, I think Jon Hamm will win and end the Mad Men acting trophy drought, and I think John Slattery will only drive that point further.

Should Win: Walton Goggins

Will Win: John Slattery

OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A DRAMA SERIES

Nominees

  • Kelly MacDonald (Boardwalk Empire)
  • Archie Panjabi (The Good Wife)
  • Christine Baranski (The Good Wife)
  • Margo Martindale (Justified)
  • Michelle Forbes (The Killing)
  • Christina Hendricks (Mad Men)

Look, I love me some Archie Panjabi, and I love me some Christina Hendricks just as much if not even moreso. But, as spellbinding as these women all were at different points of their seasons, no one came even close to displaying the riveting performance Margo Martindale gave us in Justified’s stellar second season.

Should Win: Panjabi/Hendricks/Martindale (yeah, too many, I know, I can’t pick)

Will Win: Margo Martindale

 

This is it for my Emmy Predictions, I have given 19 predictions for the main Variety/Mini/Comedy/Drama races, so we’ll see how I do when the envelopes are open and the winners are announced in some 10 days from now. Look for a recap of the action the following morning here, until then it’s back to the usual movie review coverage!

Leave a Reply

