Why Did I Get Married Too?

11 Apr

Title: Why Did I Get Married Too?
Year: 2010
Director: Tyler Perry
Writer: Tyler Perry
Starring: Janet Jackson, Tyler Perry, Tasha Smith, Jill Scott, Malik Yoba, Michael Jai White, Sharon Leal, Richard T. Jones, Lamman Rucker, Louis Gossett Jr., Cicely Tyson
MPAA Rating: PG-13, thematic material including sexuality, language, drug references and some domestic violence
Runtime: 121 min
Major Awards:
IMDb Rating: 2.5
Rotten Tomatoes: 39%

Why Did I Get Married Too? is the follow-up to Tyler Perry’s Why Did I Get Married? (thus the horrible pun in the title) and even though this one has a really terrific performance by Janet Jackson it really does not do much to improve upon the formula that Mr. Perry has been so keen on bringing to the screens every year, though I did sense some sort of growth from his directing style in a sense I cannot really pinpoint just yet.

The film starts as a comedy, then it starts evolving until arriving at the mandatory melodramatic final act. That’s what Tyler Perry does, he blends these two things, has been doing it for quite some time really, and to really good commercial success too, seeing as how he truly knows his target audience and throws in something for everyone.

As for me, I thought that while the comedy part of the film wasn’t really horrible I found that it really wasn’t so genuine, and I thought the melodramatic act was better because it gave Ms. Jackson and Ms. Scott a chance to shine and it allowed Mr. Perry to give us something to think about and not just attempt to make us laugh with his cliché-ridden pack of characters.

Sure, the film will probably be quite okay for Mr. Perry’s target audience, and I do think he’s a great crowdpleaser, I just thought that this one could have been better, not that it wasn’t good, it was quite decent, especially because I did find myself thinking that Mr. Perry was showing some artistic growth in a way, it could have been more, but then again this dude has a new movie out every time you blink so he’ll get another shot quite soon.

Grade: C

Leave a comment